roland sought the tower, and he found his way home
the comics : story

A comic book series detailing Roland's trials before we join him in The Gunslinger novel was released by Marvel beginning in 2007. Currently there are 13 titles to the series, with the 13th being released in September 2015. Within these 13 titles are a number of comics contained within each series.

These comics were written by Peter David and Robin Furth, and featured artwork by Jae Lee (who also created the artwork for the IV.V. Dark Tower novel The Wind Through the Keyhole), Richard Isanove, Sean Phillips, Luke Ross, Michael Lark, Stefano Gaudiano, Laurence Campbell and Alex Maleev. (view the credits)

This comic book series was eagerly welcomed by fans of The Dark Tower, as many long for more stories and anything Dark Tower related. And these works did not disappoint. The comics are filled with rich, full-colored, beautiful illustrations and amazing story progressions.

And with many readers wondering about Roland's early years, the comics delivered a cure. Personally, my favorite novel was Wizard & Glass, the fourth novel in The Dark Tower series, and these comics were able to expand further on Roland's years before The Gunslinger, which I loved to see in the fourth novel.

The Gunslinger Born (Books #1-7)
released February - June 2007

The Long Road Home (Books #1-5)
released March - July 2008

Treachery (Books #1-6)
released September 2008 - February 2009

The Fall of Gilead (Books #1-6)
released May - October 2009

Battle of Jericho Hill (Books #1-5)
released December 2009 - May 2010

The Gunslinger:
The Journey Begins (Books #1-5)

released May - September 2010

The Gunslinger:
The Little Sisters of Eluria (Books #1-5)

released December 2010 - May 2011

The Gunslinger:
The Battle of Tull (Books #1-5)

released June - October 2011

The Gunslinger:
The Way Station (Books #1-5)

released December 2011 - April 2012

The Gunslinger:
The Man in Black (Books #1-5)

released June - October 2012

The Drawing of the Three:
The Prisoner (Books #1-5)

released September - December 2014

The Drawing of the Three:
House of Cards (Books #1-5)

released March - July 2015

The Drawing of the Three:
Lady of Shadows (Books #1-)

released September 2015